top of page
Writer's pictureThomas Goddard

The Living Mountain by Nan Shepherd




‘To aim for the highest point is not the only way to climb a mountain.’


I had a bit of a down spell in mood, so I just focused on reading rather than updating. I chose the books well though. I took a few little trips here and there and picked up a lot of old books. One of which was quite the revelation. Although that story is for the next review.


So Nan Shepherd, a name I’ve heard a lot due to my passion for nature writing, but never an author I have seen when I’ve been out buying books. Even in the shop, I work in, I hadn’t noticed her work when browsing. I decided to pick this one up on a whim when it was compared with The Peregrine. And I was picking up The Peregrine due to a review by Clifford Sargent over at Better Than Food Book Reviews, which is hands down the best review portal I’ve discovered online.


It’s a short read, you can knock it out in 4-5 hours if you’re an average speed reader. It took me 3 to read the core text and then I took a little break before reading an extra chapter by Jannette Winterson.


The book attempts to capture the magic of the Cairngorms in Scotland. I had to google them, geography and history (I recently learned) are real weak spots for me. I think everyone has their special subjects, I am just yet to learn what mine might be. On google, it showed me that the national park is almost perfectly situated in the triangle of Inverness, Perth and Aberdeen. And the photos really helped me out, the place looks beautiful. Definitely adding it to my PTV list.


The writing is exquisite. That’s the only word for it. It conveys the real spell that the Cairngorms cast on Shepherd. Her words are lyric and captivating and you fall in love with the wildlife as much as with the place itself due to her conjuration.


Read this...


‘Dried mudflats, sun-warmed, have a delicious touch, cushioned and smooth; so has long grass at morning, hot in the sun, but still cool and wet when the foot sinks into it, like food melting to a new flavour in the mouth. And a flower caught by the stalk between the toes is a small enchantment.’

I could quote the whole thing. I can’t see this short work being her best. It seems like a sketch to me, so I think I’m going to rate this at around a 4.5.



Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐ (4.5)






0 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page